Dark Faces & Blown Out Whites

This is a discussion on Dark Faces & Blown Out Whites within the Post-Processing forums, part of the Photography Tips category; Photographing surfers can be a real challange because of the bright white surf and the darker subject. Same problem with a lot of other photography. ...

The most Southwest point in the continental US
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Photographing surfers can be a real challange because of the bright white surf and the darker subject. Same problem with a lot of other photography. I'm not a Photoshop expert but I stumbled on this easy fix.

Common Problem: The action is much too fast and changing to use anything but auto, and manual settings wouldn't really help the problem anyway. The result is often that the auto settings sense the whites and the surfer in this case is much too dark. You could use the dodge tool in PS, but I'm never very happy with the loss of saturation.

Brightening the entire picture almost always results in "blown out" whites.

Sooo, here's what I have discovered: Take the image into Photoshop CS-3. In the top menu, select "Filters"... Then select "Convert for Sharp Filters". If you want, you can go back into "Filters" and select "Smart Sharpen" and see if it helps your image. Then, go to "Images" on the top menu, select "Adjustments". On the pop-up the only selection that will be enabled is "Shadows and Highlights". Open that selection and experiment with the slide bar adjustments until you get the results you want in balancing the dark subject and the bright whites. A quick crop.... and "Surf's Up"

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Thanks for sharing that Jerry - all tips are more than welcome

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I have my own method for dealing with situations like this that is somewhat laborious, I'll give this a try when I get home.

Equipment
    Canon, Cambro/Calumet
    PHOTO EDITING OK