Optimizing a photo

This is a discussion on Optimizing a photo within the Photoshop Playground forums, part of the PHOTO PROJECTS category; My photography skills are so-so. The attached graphic shows a weak histogram. The pic is with no level correction. I shoot a lot of glass ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Optimizing a photo

Optimizing a photo

My photography skills are so-so. The attached graphic shows a weak histogram. The pic is with no level correction. I shoot a lot of glass products. Can I get some tips and tricks or help on what I am doing wrong. If I have time, I outline/highlight the reflections within the glass but I am spending to much time fixing and should get a better shot.

I use a D-50 Nikon with a standard lens.

Thank you for your help with this.

Name:  histogram-for-glass.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  31.4 KB

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I'm no expert, but I think the glass would stand out more if you had a more colorful background... wouldn't it?
    Cobwebs Design and creastano like this.
    "Eres el desastre mas bello que ojos humanos han visto."

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    A histogram merely graphically indicates the range of tones in an image. In this shot of a clear glass on a medium gray background, that range (contrast) is limited and the resulting histogram is to be expected.

You could make a levels adjustment and increase the contrast, thereby extending the histogram. But that doesn't necessarily make a better image.

“Try and penetrate with our limited means the secrets of nature and you will find that,
    behind all the discernible concatenations, there remains something subtle, intangible and inexplicable.
    Veneration for this force beyond anything that we can comprehend is my religion.”
    (Albert Einstein)

Quote Originally Posted by Grandpa View Post