i need your views

This is a discussion on i need your views within the Photography Discussion forums, part of the PHOTO FORUM category; hello friends.. i am a newbie in the world of photography.. though i have been fascinated by photography all my life i could not pursue ...

PHOTO EDITING OK

Question i need your views

hello friends.. i am a newbie in the world of photography.. though i have been fascinated by photography all my life i could not pursue it because of financial constraints.. now finally, i am going to buy a camera for myself... so i need your advice on which one to buy. should i go for an SLR or for a bridge camera.. i am quite liking the Sony HX100v cam.. howz it ?? is it good enough ??? i would also like some of my photos to have that background defocused effect.. is that possible only on SLRs or DSLRs ???

Equipment
    Pentax K100D Super / K-5/Optio 80/cell phone, Tamron 90mm macro, 17-50 f/2.8, Pentax 50 f/1.4 , a few zooms, studio strobes, tripod, ND filters...
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    I'm not going to give you any advice on what you should buy because so much depends upon your interests and goals.