How perfect should a picture be?

This is a discussion on How perfect should a picture be? within the Photography Discussion forums, part of the PHOTO FORUM category; As most of you probably know, I'm very new to photography. And have been thinking lately that most pictures that I see, are more the ...

PHOTO EDITING OK
    As most of you probably know, I'm very new to photography. And have been thinking lately that most pictures that I see, are more the work of photoshop than the camera or the photographer itself. I understand the importance of photoshop and sometimes it's a life saver. But when does post processing prevents us from becoming better photographers? I'll post an example here:

larger size image

I took this picture of the parrot and honestly did not see the little leaf of the coconut plant until I got home, I shared it in another discussion group and everybody was telling me, oh it looks ok but take out the leaf it would look better. I posted also a picture of my gf, and same response photoshop some hair of her face, sure this will make the picture look better but it's not actually what I saw, what I thought I wanted to photograph, it's how good or bad I am at a program.
    What are your thoughts on this? Does every picture have to be perfect in every way? or is there some beauty on a natural shot?
    My equipment:
    Sony Alpha A350 w/BG-30AM Vertical Grip
    Tamron 70-200 f/2.8
    Minolta AF 50mm f/1.7
    28mm f/2.8
    Sony HVL-F56 Flash
    Sony HVL-F36 Flash

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Thatís a good question and I donít think there is any rule, but I do believe it is the artist inside you that answers that question. There is no reason why after you post process an image that you can't figure out what I can do on my next shoot so I donít need to process as much.

I for one enjoy working on post process. Itís really an art in itself, and I have seen some fantastic post work on this forum.

Administrator
    PHOTO EDITING OK