Shutter Speed

This is a discussion on Shutter Speed within the Photography Discussion forums, part of the PHOTO FORUM category; I am a total newbie to digital photography. I have been successful with "normal" photos using automatic mode. I want to photograph a race car ...

Thread: Shutter Speed

I am a total newbie to digital photography. I have been successful with "normal" photos using automatic mode. I want to photograph a race car traveling at 120 mph from approximately 50 yards. I tried automatic mode. Although I did get a photo of the car it was rather blurry. I can choose to use shutter speed priority mode but I don't know what speed to set. Any suggestions? Thank you.

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Hi there and firstly welcome to the forum.

Your shutter speed will be governed by the available light, not enough light you won't get the speed unless you up the ISO and then we are talking grain.

So if light is no problem and you can get a high shutter speed then I would think anything above 1/600th should suffice - I am sure there will be some on here who are more used to this type of photography and respond with the correct speed and some tips on shooting race cars

Paint the sky with desire
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Hi there and firstly welcome to the forum.

Your shutter speed will be governed by the available light, not enough light you won't get the speed unless you up the ISO and then we are talking grain.

So if light is no problem and you can get a high shutter speed then I would think anything above [b]1/600th should suffice - I am sure there will be some on here who are more used to this type of photography and respond with the correct speed and some tips on shooting race cars
    ^^ Thats a good starting point but if you can go faster then do so. That will get you a very static image!