Web Viewing, How to get images to appear the same?

This is a discussion on Web Viewing, How to get images to appear the same? within the Photo Editing & Image Management forums, part of the PHOTO FORUM category; I'm a new photographer specializing in children. I have recently created a website and am so annoyed at how different my pictures/website appear on different ...

I'm a new photographer specializing in children. I have recently created a website and am so annoyed at how different my pictures/website appear on different computers/monitors/web browsers. Even the layout appears different. The background doesn\'t line up like it does on my Mac so I have to opt to a plain background. It\'s very frustrating. I edit all my pictures on my Mac at home in Photoshop and they appear perfect to me. However when I view them at work or on our other computers/monitors at home they appear very different. On some monitors, I wouldn\'t want my clients viewing them because the pictures appear so different (dark, color drained, and not near as sharp). I\'ve been experimenting with different settings when saving the images, different color profiles. Tried just about everything and can\'t figure it out. I look at some other photographers websites on different computers/monitors and their images look great on different computers/monitors. I know part of the problem is the resolution of the monitors but why does it seem some photographer\'s websites/pictures appear to not have this problem?