SUGGESTIONS????

This is a discussion on SUGGESTIONS???? within the People Photography forums, part of the PHOTO GALLERIES category; Hi all. no photos to share but I need some advice. I'm shooting a live gig tonight and am as yet unsure of lighting conditions. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SUGGESTIONS????

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Hi all.

no photos to share but I need some advice.

I'm shooting a live gig tonight and am as yet unsure of lighting conditions.

Is there some kind of filter I can get for situations like low light but with stage lighting?

Or is it best to just shoot at ISO 1600 and no flash or would my speedlite be beneficial?

Ive shot major concerts as a spectator in a large stadium but not so much in a small venue!

Im sure Ill work it out but just wanted advice

Thanks!
    Cazz

Canon 40D & Tamron 18 - 270mm lens & Canon 580x II Speedlight and a lot of enthusiasm

When responding to signatures, I'll give my uneducated, self taught opinion and respect that your hard work and fun went into producing the images you share. Please feel free to take everything I say with a grain of salt

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4070/...2269f814_m.jpg

Amarantha Photography

Be my friend on facebook

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I'd use my speedlite. You should be able to bounce the flash when you're inside.
    Nikon Shooting, Lightroom Using Photography Chick.

Nikon Shooter
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    Maybe... but don't forget that bouncing generally requires a surface to bounce off of. Most stage settings have high ceilings (unless you're in a small club), and they may also not be a neutral color surface so your photos can take on a color cast. Just things to be aware of.

I guess it depends on the environment, right? Will there be a light show? Often, timed right, you can get great band photos with the available light. A little noise at the higher ISO isn't really a big deal.