Nightclub Photographer needs help!

This is a discussion on Nightclub Photographer needs help! within the Night Photography forums, part of the PHOTO GALLERIES category; Hey guys I just started in the photography world about 8 months ago and I recently started working as a nightclub photographer in Chicago but ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TCampbell

Thread: Nightclub Photographer needs help!

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK

Nightclub Photographer needs help!

Hey guys I just started in the photography world about 8 months ago and I recently started working as a nightclub photographer in Chicago but having major problems with the AF settings, what I use is still low end stuff, nothing professional yet since I'm still a beginner. I work with a Nikon D3000 kit lens 18-55 3.5-5.6 and a SB400 Flash, it does the work but in the settings whenever i choose AF-A AF-S or AF-C most of the time it takes forever to capture the picture, and sometimes wont get it at all! Its getting really annoying so I started using MF manual focus but the pictures don't come out very sharp which makes them look very cheap. Is it me or the camera? or both? Ive seen other photographers just snap shoots like crazy but if Im not in MF they drag. I think im a pretty good photographer for the 8 months I been doing it but this is really annoying, I really need your help! I have a big day tomorrow! I also have a 35mm 1.8 but the clubs get wayyyy to crowded to get decent pics with that. Anybody? Please and thank you!!!The pic on the left is with MF, the one on the right with AF-S but hesitated a little bit
    Name:  DSC_0075.jpg
Views: 2419
Size:  90.8 KBName:  DSC_0076.jpg
Views: 704
Size:  95.8 KB

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Autofocus assist illuminator? Does the D3000 have one?
    Shoot aperture mode at f4 for some shots and see if it helps.
    Use AF-S mode rather than continuous. It won't let you shoot if it doesn't have focus lock.