Second Shooter Pay

This is a discussion on Second Shooter Pay within the Forum Rules forums, part of the FORUM INFORMATION DESK category; Hello. I am writing to ask wedding professionals their opinion and hear their personal experience. I am a wedding photographer and I work for a ...

PHOTO EDITING OK

Second Shooter Pay

Hello. I am writing to ask wedding professionals their opinion and hear their personal experience. I am a wedding photographer and I work for a very small company. I often shoot as a second shooter but occasionally am the head photographer on weddings/events. As a second shooter, my boss requires that I edit all the photos I took before I give them to him to make the final touches. I edit them down to usable shots, color correct them, and crop if needed using Photo Mechanic and Lightroom. This can take me up to 2 hours for each wedding. He requires that I do this on my own time (not paid) at home. Is this normal? Should I be getting paid for editing these photos? I do get paid hourly for my time as a second shooter but it's the post production work I am unpaid for. It seems like I should be getting paid for editing as well since it is work-related but I wanted to hear from other wedding professionals to hear thoughts and experiences before I say anything about being treated unfairly....please help! Thank you!!
    Last edited by P4610BS; 11-07-2014 at 01:17 PM. Reason: Additional information added

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    It's odd that as a second-shooter you would be required to edit images at all. Since you don't say where you are, it's hard to give too much advice, but in general, if you're being paid a straight, hourly wage, then you should be paid that wage for all the hours you work. If, on the other hand, you're being paid for the job, then that processing is deemed part of the job.
    Visit my website: John's Photography Comments and critique always appreciated.