What's wrong with my food photos?

This is a discussion on What's wrong with my food photos? within the Food Photography forums, part of the PHOTO GALLERIES category; Hi guys! I'm a newbie here. I just started a food blog and I'm looking to increase the traffic via foodgawker and other similar sites. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: What's wrong with my food photos?

PHOTO EDITING OK

What's wrong with my food photos?

Hi guys! I'm a newbie here. I just started a food blog and I'm looking to increase the traffic via foodgawker and other similar sites. I've had one photo accepted with foodgawker (my first one - beginners luck) and the rest are rejected for various reasons. I was wondering if you guys could look at my photos and explain to me what's wrong with them and how I can improve?

Most of the rejections from foodgawker I receive involve composition complaints, or food/photo styling. I know the basics of lighting, and sometimes it is hard to get good natural lighting as I'm in an above-ground basement apartment but I usually make do. Composition however kind of eludes me. I've never been rejected at tastespotting or photograzing, always foodgawker.

So, from left to right:
    Lentil soup - accepted, after submitting a million different angles and crops. It's my most popular entry by far, definitely due to foodgawker publicity, and this is why getting accepted by them is so important to me!
    Hummus - rejected due to lighting issues, then when I fixed the lighting they said "previously rejected"?
    Kabsa - composition/lighting
    Cashew Chicken - Composition too tight.
    Bread - Composition/lighting
    Scones - This one I was actually surprised that it got rejected; IMO it's my best one! And due to food styling? You can view the larger image here.

Please any advise is appreciated. And what was wrong with my scone food styling? :P

Name:  lentil2.jpg
Views: 545
Size:  88.4 KBName:  hummus2.jpg
Views: 497