Need Flash Recommendation

This is a discussion on Need Flash Recommendation within the Flash forums, part of the Photography Tips category; I just bought a Nikon D1x and need to purchase a flash. I am a novice and am not sure how far I'm going to ...

I just bought a Nikon D1x and need to purchase a flash. I am a novice and am not sure how far I'm going to go with photography. I want a digital flash that will sync with my camera and do a decent job without breaking the bank. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Did i post in the right place? My book shows to use a SB-28x or sb-50dx so guess that's what I will start searching for unless anyone knows of another brand that is compatible. Thanks!

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Not sure what kind of camera that is. Im guessing its a p&s but if its a dslr I use a Nikon SB-600 which is about 250.00

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    The Metz 48 AF-1 is cheaper and more powerful than the first party flashes. Only bad thing about ti is that it doesn't come with a bag or case.
    David Ngo
    Olympus C7070WZ + Metz 48 AF-1 + Photoshop CS2

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I noticed the response is not that encouraging but thought I should still give it a try. I am also thinking of purchasing a flash gun and I am using a DSLR camera. When I stated to search the web, there are so many types of flashes. 4/3 and stufff like that is very difficult to understand.

Basic question. Most DSLR would have eTTL or iTTL feature. How important to get flash with such provision? If the answer to flash is just too complicated, is there a link for novice like us to read about them?

Can somebody help?

Nikon Shooter
    PHOTO EDITING OK