Filters for Dummies

This is a discussion on Filters for Dummies within the Filters forums, part of the Photography Tips category; Hello all, newbie here with a typical newbie question. I have recently entered the world of proper photography having purchased my first dSLR and although ...

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Hello all, newbie here with a typical newbie question.

I have recently entered the world of proper photography having purchased my first dSLR and although I am very impressed with the results, which are worlds apart from what I used to take with my digital compact, I feel I am still not achieving the clarity and richness that I see others achieving when I look through sites like this. I know I am only using the stock lens so I can't expect miracles, but from what I can gather I can improve my results through the use of filters. Unfortunately that is all I know about filters, so can anyone recommend what type of filters to use in typical circumstances?

I am very fond of portrait work, indoor & out, animal & human, so anything that can enhance skin tones and reduce background interference would be nice. I also appreciate using perspective, like looking down a long railing or wall, not sure if a filter could help with that really? I also enjoy outdoor scenery photos, but living in England my enemy is cloudy skies, so even in July/August I am getting white skies, so any filters that would help there would also be nice.

I guess I'm looking for a beginners guide to filters and what I should get to start me out, and general advise would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

James

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    The only filters I find are of any real use are neutral density filters, and polarisers.

Quality lenses are already coated with various magical substances, and putting a cheap UV filter on the end will degrade image quality, for example by causing internal reflections.