Skylight or UV filter?

This is a discussion on Skylight or UV filter? within the Filters forums, part of the Photography Tips category; hey guys im new to photography i need some help here what filter should i buy for protection and for portrait use? which one do ...

View Poll Results: Skylight vs Filter

Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll
  • Skylight Filter

1 20.00%
  • UV Filter

4 80.00%

hey guys im new to photography
    i need some help here
    what filter should i buy for protection and for portrait use?
    which one do you really prefer?
    my mac is not yet calibrated so there's a chance that the color of my photo may look rubbish on your monitor

worng place
    sorry how can i delete this thread?
    my mac is not yet calibrated so there's a chance that the color of my photo may look rubbish on your monitor

Full-Time
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    They're both basically the same thing.

But whichever one ou et, make sure it's a good brand. Cheaper ones can have imperfectionas and/or add a colour cast to your images.

PHOTO EDITING OK
    They are mainly used as protection for your lens. I always have a UV filter on my lenses. That way if you scratch the filter, big deal.

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Quote Originally Posted by smckeag81 View Post
    They are mainly used as protection for your lens. I always have a UV filter on my lenses. That way if you scratch the filter, big deal.
    Filters are fragile pieces of glass, and can break easily. Shards of broken glass will do a good job of scratching your lens.

A lens cap is the best protection.
    My photo blog
    I use a Canon EOS 40D + various lenses.

A skylight filter is a UV filter with a hint of warmth.

I never use either.