35mm film issues WITH MY STUDENT'S CAMERA - NEED HELP ASAP, PLEASE!

This is a discussion on 35mm film issues WITH MY STUDENT'S CAMERA - NEED HELP ASAP, PLEASE! within the Film Photography Equipment forums, part of the FILM PHOTOGRAPHY FORUM category; Hi there! I'm hoping this forum isn't neglected in the digital era, so here goes nothing. I'm a film photo instructor for a local college ...

Equipment
    Nikon D700, 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6, 70-300mm f/3.5-5.6, SB-910
    PHOTO EDITING OK

Question 35mm film issues WITH MY STUDENT'S CAMERA - NEED HELP ASAP, PLEASE!

Hi there! I'm hoping this forum isn't neglected in the digital era, so here goes nothing.

I'm a film photo instructor for a local college and a student has brought & stumped me with a camera / film problem. Her camera doesn't always seem to record her images to her film fully and it's as though her shutter is having issues, such as not opening fully. It is not consistent on which frames are affected or to what degree. I've tried a Google search with no luck as I'm even stuck with how to describe the issues for search purposes. I've inspected her camera without film to see if I could observe any shutter sticking or whatever with no such luck. I'm officially stuck as I've not seen this happen before.

I've attached pics from my phone on a light table to help illustrate the problem and I apologize for the green streaks from the light table. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Name:  16734077008_2d8d5ccbb9_o.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  106.5 KBName:  16920743521_8fb80c8d51_o.jpg
Views: 90
Size:  101.7 KB

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    What kind of camera is it (vertical blade, or horizontal curtain)?
    Visit my website: John's Photography Comments and critique always appreciated.

Equipment
    PHOTO EDITING OK