New to film, help?

This is a discussion on New to film, help? within the Film Photography Equipment forums, part of the FILM PHOTOGRAPHY FORUM category; Hey, i am fairly new to film and this forum so i was just wondering if anyone on this forum could help me out (it ...

Hey, i am fairly new to film and this forum so i was just wondering if anyone on this forum could help me out (it looks great by the way). I just got a minolta xg1 with 45mm standard lens and a 72mm vivitar 28-200mm macro focusing zoom lens (if there are any mistakes in there sorry, im not really sure what im talking about). I have some b/w film and colour and i really want to get into photography, which this forum can hopefully help in.
    I just have a few questions before i start :
    1. Is the camera i have OK?
    2. Are the lenses i have OK?
    3. What should my next lens be?
    4. How do i get into freelance photography?

At the moment i am in south africa on holiday so i am hoping to find some great pictures, (if anyone wants any pictures i can take them ) and i also go to switzerland alot so i think i have some great locations to get pictures.

I AM brand new to photography so basically, i am just wondering how to start and get into it if anyone can help me please do

peace
    goofyflip
    Minolta XG-1 w/ rokkor 45mm f/2.4
    Canon 20d w/ sigma 28-70mm f/4
    Canon P

1. Yes

2. The prime lens should be excellent. The zoom will probably range from mediocre to pretty good.

3. None. Just use these for a year or two. Then you will know what your next lens needs to be.