Cambo SC 4x5

This is a discussion on Cambo SC 4x5 within the Film Photography Equipment forums, part of the FILM PHOTOGRAPHY FORUM category; Hey there people of photoforum, This is my very first post on photoforum.com and I hope it not to be my last. I have recently ...

Thread: Cambo SC 4x5

Hey there people of photoforum,

This is my very first post on photoforum.com and I hope it not to be my last. I have recently came across a Cambo SC 4x5 camera, very big thanks to my uncle, and I have a couple questions about it. First, I need a clarification on the film holders. (Just the basic 4x5 holder) Are most of them universal like Toyo, and I believe Calumet third party holders? Second, I need a good fall out equation. The cameras monorail doesn't seem to have any markings of any kind to determine my focal length. And Third, (By now I hope you can see I am a rookie when it comes to view cameras) I need a clarification or perhaps a lesson in the whole, tilting of the film plane, lens, and shifting. I understand that those techniques are usually for architectural work and keeping the two planes flat with each other is for more portraiture work. I hope to take some great shots with such a great camera very soon and the sooner I can the happier I will be. I can't wait. Any comments or responses will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
    Craig K.

PHOTO EDITING OK
    It has been a long time since I owned a view camera, but being that this question is left unanswered, I thought I'd give it a whack: