Choosing B&W Film For A SLR...

This is a discussion on Choosing B&W Film For A SLR... within the Film Photography Equipment forums, part of the FILM PHOTOGRAPHY FORUM category; Newbie here. I have dug out my old Pentax SF10 and I am looking for some help to pick out Black and White Film. I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Newbie here.

I have dug out my old Pentax SF10 and I am looking for some help to pick out Black and White Film.
    I will be up in New Hampshire and Maine next month, so all of my pics will be outdoors.
    Fuji, Kodak, Ilford?...Does it really matter?

Thanks!

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Welcome to the forum.
    Unfortunately I cannot help with your question - last time I used a b&w film was in 1992.
    David Hume (1742)

PHOTO EDITING OK
    It really is personal preference. I like Fuji Neopan 100 myself but get a roll of whatever and try it. You will soon have a personal favorite.

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Thanks for the welcome.
    The last time that I used B&W film was in 1991, it was the same year that I bought my Pentax.

I was thinking of just looking for the best deal (on ebay) and purchasing the film that way.
    I am looking forward to taking B&W almost exclusively on this vacation.

The most Southwest point in the continental US
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Hi fischfan13, Welcome to the forum. It's hard to suggest a b&w film without knowing what kind of pictures you are going to be taking. I'm also not a great fan of buying things on eBay. If you shop some of the big photo stores online, you really won't pay a lot more, and you will most likely get fresher film, a better selection, and have more assurance of dependable service.