Critique wanted - waterfront engagement shot

This is a discussion on Critique wanted - waterfront engagement shot within the Event Photography forums, part of the PHOTO GALLERIES category; This was taken this evening on the shore of Lake Ontario just before sunset. What do you think? Anything you would have done differently to ...

This was taken this evening on the shore of Lake Ontario just before sunset. What do you think? Anything you would have done differently to improve it?

Thanks for your feedback.

PHOTO EDITING OK
    Hi Debs! Welcome to the forum. I am by no means an expert but here is my opinion for what it is worth. I think you tried to do too much with this photo. Your subject is the couple and they get lost in the reflections and the building and the sunset. You are also overexposed on the left side of the picture. Here is a quick edit of how I might try to crop this photo. I also tried to fix the overexposed area but that is really difficult with a copy of a copy of a copy!

My advice to you when taking photos of people is simplify!!! The more you see of the people the better your shot will be!

This is just one example, I am sure others will have more ideas for you as well! Keep on shooting!
    Elaine

www.elaineobrienphotography.com

My Favorite number of the alphabet is Purple!!!

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Well exposed and focused but as Elaine said it is a little busy - can see why you chose it with the reflections in botht the water and the building adding so much to the shot, the railings and fences however do detract from the subject.

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I might have tried framing them on the right side of the picture with only a bit of the water visible beneath them, providing that the railing etc continued on far enough to provide good lines through the whole picture. The reflection in the water is cool, but keeping it (in my opinion) screws up the framing.