Really photography School?

This is a discussion on Really photography School? within the Do-It-Yourself forums, part of the Photography Tips category; I'm a newbie, Iím so newbie that I do get miss up the relationships between the higher the number the smaller the apertureĒ this type ...

I'm a newbie, Iím so newbie that I do get miss up the relationships between the higher the number the smaller the apertureĒ this type of thing. With so much reading, I overwhelm myself, and half of the vocabulary I donít understand, Iím not slow or anything like that but, to add to my life I do work managing rentals, I'm a mother of 1 year old a 4 year old and the oldest is 6 years old. So with sleep depravation things gets harder and harder to comprehend. A photographer I met at my kids school mentioned to me The New York Institute of photography, Ií m really considering enrolling in their course.
    Can anybody share with me their experiences with this school if any? Any friends who did it? Or any other alternatives Iím not aware of it?
    Thank you

Nikon Shooter
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    First, welcome to the forum and to photography! I know how you feel- it can be overwhelming. Go slow, and work on the basics and you'll be up to speed in no time.

I haven't used them, but this topic pops up every few months... do a search here on the forum for New York Institute of Photography and/or NYIP and you'll get an instant answer to your question in many different message threads.

I researched it myself and determined that, for me (and strictly for me), it was more cost effective to self-teach. But I also have a background in photography going back to the late 1980's (ie, I think f-stops in my sleep).

The NYIP curriculum may change occasionally, but last I looked it covered **everything** in photography, including film and darkroom processing. It's pretty complete- but you may not be interested in learning about film and darkroom, either, so you need to judge for yourself.