exposure and aperature

This is a discussion on exposure and aperature within the Do's and Dont's forums, part of the Photography Tips category; im new to shooting outside of just for fun. and i really want to learn to shoot shots correctly. i am however lacking in how ...

im new to shooting outside of just for fun. and i really want to learn to shoot shots correctly. i am however lacking in how to properly set my exposure levels. iso and aperture are new to me. is there an easy way to understand these two?

Super Moderator
    PHOTO EDITING OK
    I highly recommend this book.

“Try and penetrate with our limited means the secrets of nature and you will find that,
    behind all the discernible concatenations, there remains something subtle, intangible and inexplicable.
    Veneration for this force beyond anything that we can comprehend is my religion.”
    (Albert Einstein)

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I highly recommend this book.
    Me too!
    Colleen

Sony a700
    Sony 18-70 3.5-5.6 kit lens
    Sony 16-35 2.8 Carl Zeiss
    Sony 85mm 1.4 Carl Zeiss
    Sony 50mm 1.4
    Sony 75-300 4.5-5.6
    Sony HVL-F36AM flash
    Alien Bee's B1600, AB800
    Some soft Boxes
    LR3 & CS4

PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Peterson's companion book "Understanding Shutter Speed" is also well worth reading.
    John B

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I've read them both and they are excellent at explaining without overwhelming you.
    Olympus E-30 & E-520 ~ 14-42mm ~ 50 - 200mm ~ OM 50mm f/1.8 ~ Sigma 18 - 50mm f2.8

PHOTO EDITING OK
    I've read them both and they are excellent at explaining without overwhelming you.

I agree. The understanding exposure book is very easy to read and follow. It is also easy to find a topic if you need to refer back to something. It is instock at many book stores I have been to, so no ordering involved.
    ~Elizabeth

Nikon D90
    Nikon D40
    Lenses: Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF; Nikon 18-55mm AF-S; Nikon 55-200mm VR AF-S, Nikon 18-105mm VR

My Photobucket Albums