Dorm Room Dark Room

This is a discussion on Dorm Room Dark Room within the Darkroom forums, part of the FILM PHOTOGRAPHY FORUM category; So as you can see, I'm a new member at photoforum. I'm a relatively amateur photographer, but part of the reason for this is that ...

So as you can see, I'm a new member at photoforum. I'm a relatively amateur photographer, but part of the reason for this is that I would like to go with an analogue film camera rather than digital, and as a college student making only 4.30 an hour (work study college) at 10-15 hours a week, I don't really have a lot of funds. As the title suggests, I want to make a setup that can be disassembled/stored in a relatively small space.

So here is my basic understanding of the process and hopefully the knowledgeable people here can fill in the gaps and throw in some suggestions.

I would have a developer chemical heated to the proper temperature depending on what chemical it is I choose to use (what would be some good ones to use in terms of price:quality and ease of use?)

In complete darkness I load the film from the film spool onto a reel. I would then put this reel into a developing tank that contains the developer, at this point, darkness isn't important. (I imagine instead of trying to block out all the light in my dorm room I could make some sort of bag with gloves secured in so that light does not get into the bag, and so that you can insert your hands into the gloves without opening the bag. I feel like I've seen something like this in some sort of chemistry application.)

I would then leave the film in the developer for a certain amount of time (once again depending on the chemical used) and agitate it every so often so as to increase surface contact between the film and the developer (how much agitation is too little or too much? and does this depend on the particular chemical?) The developer is then poured out of the tank and saved for reuse.