I am a photographer, this is my career..

This is a discussion on I am a photographer, this is my career.. within the Casual Chat forums, part of the OTHER FORUMS category; Yes photography is fun to me, but it is my career. I hate it when people don't take me seriously when I say it is ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    PHOTO EDITING NOT OK
    Yes photography is fun to me, but it is my career. I hate it when people don't take me seriously when I say it is my career and I am going to be paid to take photos of them and not do them for free.
    I will do some free shoots for certain people. Don't want that to sound bitchy but I won't do a free shoot for someone if I will not benefit from the photos for my portfolio use. So I only ask certain models, or people who can model but don't actually model, to do free shoots for me. At first I didn't want to do ANY free shoots cause it's not fair. But I end up doing some anyways. So at least now I've narrowed it down to people who'd help make art with me.

So a bit more into my point now. Stacy, who I just posted some photos of, gets free shoots from me. I want her to sign a model release form stating I can basically do whatever I want with the photos I take of her. I'm trying to get her to sign a contract that will be good for a year's work of shoots. She told me she would. But then went on about how she says I can't post any pics of her if she doesn't like them. You know how people pick at themselves most and don't end up liking pics of themselves that others find amazingly gorgeous?? Well that's why I have a waiver, so I can post the gorgeous pics they don't like of themselves because to me it may be the best pic from the shoot and it's not going to waste.